STC rocks Girls 18 in Sun.Star Cup

(For original story, click here)
ST. Theresa’s College (STC) C didn’t have a picture-perfect performance in the group stage just barely getting into the quarterfinals.

However, STC C won matches when these counted and eventually brought home the crown with a 1-0 win over Tabor Hill FC in the Girls Under-18 championships last Sunday at the Cebu City Sports Center football pitch in the 3rd Sun.Star Football Cup.

(The STC girls celebrate with their trophy--contributed foto by Jinggoy Roa)

STC finished with five points from a win and two draws in the group stage and took the second to the last slot in the quarterfinals.

STC blanked Benthel Asia 0-0, but drew with Phoenix FC 0-0 and Ateneo de Cebu A.

STC C, mentored by Jinggoy Roa, beat Group 4 leader Erco, 1-0, in the quarter finals and then sister team STC B, 1-0, in the semifinals before taking home the title with a close win over Tabor Hills FC in the finals, 1-0.

The team was composed of Estela Bastes, Alyssa Monteclaro, Imelle Iratagotia, Lara Misa, Kaye Sarmiento, Amber Villaflor, Angela Aniñon, Athena Poblacion, and PH Girls Under-16 team members Alexa Ceniza and Jan Reese Jumawan, who was named the MVP.

On the other hand, San Roque FC (SRFC) A claimed the Girls Under-23 title with a 1-0 victory over sister squad SRFC B.

Both SRFC squads were unbeaten in the group stage and settled to scoreless draw in their only meeting. Christine Gonzalez was named the division’s MVP.

In the Boys Under 23, keeper Leonard Tan didn’t allow a single goal in the whole tournament to lead the University of San Carlos A to the title over Erco, 1-0.

USC A, which won all their four group stage matches, beat Don Bosco B in the quarterfinals, 1-0, and Leylam FC in the semifinals, 1-0. Erco, which also had three shutouts in the group stage to top Group 3, beat the University of Southern Philippines Foundation, 1-0, in the quarterfinals and USC-B, 2-0, in the semifinals before conceding their only goal in the tournament in the semis.

Tan was named the division’s MVP, while teammate Jay Arizabal finished with a tie with Dan Villarico for the Golden Boot award with five goals.


Popular posts from this blog

PaBol girls challenge Manila teams

A Pinoy played for Real Madrid? (updated)

The GTZ questions; the CebuFA program