Tuesday, November 20, 2012

Springdale Titans bag B14, 17 titles

THE Springdale Titans ended their title drought this year in style, bagging two titles in the First Sun.Star Football Cup at the Cebu City Sports Center.

Sabin Veloso powered the Boys 14 team over Don Bosco, 2-0, in the finals late Sunday night, while Niko Villacin’s intimidating defensive presence helped Springdale win the Boys 17 shootout via sudden-death over the Mandaue Technical Institute, 5-4.

It was both teams’ first titles for this year.

Coach Mario Ceniza, who handled the Boys 17 squad, cited the leadership of Villacin as the key factor in their win.

“He was supposed to undergo an operation this week because of an injury, but he really pushed through with playing,” said Ceniza. “Even during the Cebu City Olympics, he was playing with the injury.”

Villacin was named the MVP in the division and got a P1,000 Sun Savings Account as part of his reward.

After holding MTI to a scoreless draw in regulation, the match went to a shootout with neither keeper able to stop the ball.

In the fifth try, Yannie Miranda banged in his shot, while the MTI kicker hit wide, ending the shootout.

It was a tough campaign for the team as it finished second in the group stage with one win against Barili, 3-1, a draw against Sacred Heart School-Ateneo de Cebu, 1-1, and a loss to the University of San carlos, 1-0.

In the quarterfinal round, they blanked Bourgeios, 2-0, overwhelming the all-Korean squad who finished on top of their group to arrange a return bout with USC.

This time around, it was the Carolinians who were sent packing, courtesy of a lovely strike from JR Dakay past the wall early in the second half.

“Diretso gyud ang bola, nindut pagkatira,” said Ceniza.

Aside from Miranda, Dakay and Villacin, the other members of the Titans’ Boys 17 squad are goalkeeper Antonio Rafols, AJ Caliva, Rafi Lipardo, Miguel Flores, Sean Lo, Tyrone Jacalan, Enrico Larrazabal, Mikkel Neri and Anton Alvarez.

In the Boys 14 division, Springdale had to deal with age group powerhouse Don Bosco A in the finals, 2-1, to win the title, with Veloso earning the nod as the division’s MVP.

In the semifinals, Springdale overwhelmed another Don Bosco squad, 5-0, with Gab Villacin coming up with a shutout. Jimmy Haoshen scored two goals, while Veloso, Marc Araneta and Enzo Ceniza had one each.

“It was a match of last year’s Palaro champions as most of the Don Bosco and Springdale players were in the squad,” said Ceniza.

The team, which topped their group in the elimination round, also blanked Bright Academy, 2-0, in the quarterfinals.

Other members of the team are Josh Young, James Balao, Dominic Ganas, Mark Nacional, Ivan Palmero and Terence Colmenares.

No comments: