Sunday, October 16, 2011

USC wins Cesafi title

This story came out on Sun.Star Cebu on Oct. 17
THE University of San Carlos (USC) ended their title drought as they snatched the Cebu Athletic Schools Athletic Foundation Inc. college football title via shootout over the University of Southern Philippines Foundation (USPF) at the Aboitiz Sportsfield yesterday.

USC won the sudden death penalty shootout, 6-5, to end the team’s five-year championship drought.
There were no goals scored in regulation and in the extra period and after the first shootout, both teams were still tied at 5-all.

Hanesin Prince Anthony converted his final shot, while USPF’s Lopito Tumulak hit wide, sparking a celebration from USC keeper Leonardo Frances.

Others who scored for USC in the shootout were Karl Arcenas, Ethan Decena, Pomposo Atillo, John Roy Melgo and John Daniel Caballero.

The USPF players who made their kicks were Joseph Rodriguez, Edmar Galacio, Aljon Armamento, Jeff Pelanio and Wilford Sabella.

Despite a slow start, USC relied on their defense as USPF dominated the ball possession though it failed to convert their chances.

“We dominated the game and they played their best but USC kept its composure in defending. Makasulod mi pero dili makaconvert,” said USPF head coach Eleazar Toledo.

The lack of conditioning among the USC players resulted to the collapse of its midfield in the first half of the game but the team adjusted in the second half.

USPF defeated USC in the elimination round and the champion anticipated a hard match in the finals against USPF, which made the finals for the third time.

USC won its last championship on 2005 with Joshua Fegidero as head coach and Gary Panagsaan as assistant. This time, Panagsaan is the head coach and Fegidero is the assistant.

“Happy kaayo mi. After five years kay nakadaog napud mi,” said Panagsagan.

No comments: