Sunday, October 19, 2008

Don Bosco rules Cesafi high school football


DON Bosco Technology Center (DBTC) wrested the 2008 Cebu Schools Athletic Foundation Inc. secondary level title as it held the No. 1 University of Southern Philippines-Foundation (USP-F) scoreless, 3-0, at the University of San Carlos-Technology Center (USC-TC) football field. 

Both teams were tied with six points going into the match with USPF holding a slight two goal edge over DBTC. 

However, DBTC showed it was far from USPF’s equal as it dominated 80 percent of the game and had 17 shots compared to a lone attempt for USPF. 

Miko Joseph Lima Lima converted a penalty kick after a hand ball in the 39th minute of regulation for the 1-0 halftime lead. 

In the second half, James Nacorda attacked from the right side and scored a goal at the 50th minute then Christian Noel added another goal 10 minutes later for the 3-0 lead. 

Meanwhile, USC-North Campus triumphed over University of San Jose-Recoletos, 3-1, in a come-from-behind fashion to clinch third place honors of the tournament. 

USJ-R had the early lead with a strike by Elijah Abellana at the three-minute mark. However, Ray Vincent Tuadles retaliated in the 11th minute for a 1-1 score. 

Ray Anthony Catubigan scored for USC-NC in the 48th minute and Tuadles sealed the victory with his second in the 57. 

Just like the championship game between DBTC and USP-F, USC-NC also had control of the ball most of the time with 80 percent of the possession. 

In the collegiate division, USP-F remained unbeaten and at the top of the rankings after a 3-0 win over University of Cebu. 

Top scorer Rene Sanchez scored the first goal for USP-F in the 37th and added another goal in the 76th. However, he was kicked out of the game after getting his second yellow card and will be suspended in USP-F’s final game of the eliminations against 2006 Cesafi champions USC. 

Sanchez, who scored five goals in the competition, got his first yellow after an intentional hand ball and his second for wasting time. (EKA) 


ronaldo said...

The correct goal scorers for DBTC are Miko Limalima on a penalty after the USP goalie tackled Peter Ricamora instead of the ball. The second goal was by Ricamora from an assist from right field by James Nacorda. The third goal was by Christian Noel who sent a freekick from close to the halfcourt line thru the fingers of the USP goalie who went to far ahead (na lumsan).

I'm curious to know how the tournament manager got his ball possesion figures. I didn't see any chess timer on the officials' table that is usually used for recording ball possesions nor did I see two stopwatches. Goal attempts is also not a fair gauge on ball possesion.

But PaBol's attempt to present match figures should be applauded. I hope CFA can adopt this if they have the manpower to do so.

ronaldo said...

That also meant that Peter Ricamora scored the most number of goals in the tournament at six goals in three games.

homer said...

hi!who will play for the aboitiz 17-u for the don bosco???are they still the one that played for CESAFI?????TNX